Episode 18 (out now!): Science Pub #5, From science to policy and back again

As promised, the next installment of Steaming Piles of Science is out now: and it is a GREAT episode. This Science Pub was a discussion about national and international science policy and how advancements in science is translated into policy to improve the human condition.

Here is the blurb from Dartmouth’s website describing the topics of conversation:

Science – the work of analysis, experiment, fail, and try again – relentlessly pursues answers to some of the most complex and pressing issues of our time, but work in the lab won’t change the world if it stays in the lab. How to get research findings out in the world, to fuel the zeitgeist, and inform policy to address those complex issues, is an important art. Although the work of scientists impacts almost every part of our daily lives, missteps in communication on the science-to-policy path can be disastrous. What does it take to be an effective advocate for science-informed policy? What is the difference between policy that impacts science and science that impacts policy? What are the roles of scientist, advocate, and policy-maker? 

The leaders of this Science Pub panel are:

Melody Brown Burkins is Associate Director at the John Sloan Dickey Center for International Understanding, an Adjunct Professor in the Environmental Studies program at Dartmouth. Additionally, she is Vice Chair of the Board on International Scientific Organizations, National Academies, serves on the Governing Council, Science Policy Exchange, a Trustee of Thetford Academy and Past Chair of the US National Committee for Geological Sciences.

Celia Y. Chen is a Research Professor of Biological Sciences; Graduate Program in Ecology, Evolution, Ecosystems and Society and leads the Research Translation Core of the Dartmouth Toxic Metals Superfund research group.

Anne R. Kapuscinski is Professor of Environmental Studies and Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Professor in Sustainability Science at Dartmouth. She also serves as Chair of the Board of Directors of the Union of Concerned Scientists.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: